Which Asakusa Knife Making Workshop Should You Book?
The four Asakusa knife workshops compared: length, price, what you actually do (sharpen, fit a handle, engrave), what you take home, and who each one suits.
For most visitors, Traveling Tokyo’s 40-minute craft and sharpening workshop: 4.9 from 419 reviews, from about $91, and short enough to fit around Senso-ji. Book BAC’s 1.5-hour workshop instead if you want engraving, a talk on knife history and gift packaging. Book Taimatsu’s two-hour class if what you want is to learn to sharpen properly.

What all four have in common
None of them forges a blade. In every one you work on a knife that has already been made: you sharpen it on whetstones, and depending on the workshop you also shape the edge, fit or hammer on the handle, and engrave it. All four have free cancellation up to 24 hours before, and all four teach in English.
The four side by side
| Traveling Tokyo, 40 min | Traveling Tokyo, 1 hour | BAC, 1.5 hours | Taimatsu, 2 hours | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| From | $91 | $88 | $150 | $177 |
| Rating | 4.9 (419) | 5.0 (4) | 4.9 (503) | 5.0 (1) |
| Where | Asakusa | “Tokyo” | Asakusa | 1-9-8 Nishiasakusa |
| What you do | Whetstone sharpening, shape and refine, choose a handle | Materials and tools, shaping and sharpening | Knife history, choose a blade, sharpen, engrave, hammer on the handle | Steel types, stones of several grits, sharpen and test |
| Take home | The knife and its handle | Not stated in the listing | Multi-purpose knife, gift box, key-holder | Your sharpened knife |
| Group | Small and larger groups | Up to 10 | Not stated | Up to 8 |
| Language | English, Japanese | English | English | English |
Prices, ratings and review counts from our October 2026 data check; operators change prices, so treat them as the shape of the market, not a quote.
The 40-minute workshop (Traveling Tokyo)
This is the one most people book, and the reviews explain why. You actually do the sharpening rather than watch it, with bilingual instructors walking you through blade angles, stone technique and basic maintenance. The listing includes the knife blade and handle, and recent guests mention a choice of handles and an engraving upgrade; one wrote “Engraving upgrade totally worth it”. It is wheelchair accessible. Two rules matter: payment is cashless only (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, JCB, Diners Club, Discover), and if you arrive more than 15 minutes late you may be asked to reschedule.
The 1.5-hour workshop (BAC)
BAC’s session has the most reviews of the four, 503 at 4.9. It is slower and more of an occasion. You put on a light haori jacket, get a name badge written in Japanese, and sit down with tea or a soft drink for the history of Japanese knives and swords. You choose from up to five blade types; the usuba, deba and petit yanagiba cost extra. Then you sharpen, engrave sakura leaves or your name in Japanese on the handle, and attach it with a traditional hammer. The knife comes in gift packaging with Japanese snacks and a key-holder. Transport and meals are not included, and friends who come only to watch pay an observation fee on site. See the BAC workshop.
The one-hour workshop (Traveling Tokyo)
The same operator’s other listing is cheaper, at $88, and lasts an hour in a group of up to ten. It is described as a working studio where you learn the materials, tools and processes behind the craft, “from shaping and sharpening to refining the blade’s edge”. It has only four reviews, all five stars, and the listing names no area beyond “Tokyo”. Its includes do not mention taking a knife home, although one reviewer who came with a friend wrote that “we both took home a nice souvenir”. Ask the operator before you book if that matters to you. See the one-hour workshop.
The two-hour class (Taimatsu)
Taimatsu’s class starts at 1-9-8 Nishiasakusa, on the Kappabashi side of Asakusa. It is the most technical: a tool and safety briefing, steel types, a demonstration, then you sharpen your own knife on whetstones of different grits and test it. Knife, whetstone, stand, apron and towel are provided, so you arrive empty-handed, and you take the sharpened knife home. It has one review so far, from a professional cook, and it is not suitable for children under 10, wheelchair users or people with mobility or visual impairments. The sharpening class guide has more.
Who should book which
40-Minute Workshop
Sharpen, shape, pick a handle and go. Wheelchair accessible, cashless.
Check dates →1.5-Hour Workshop
Haori, history, an engraved handle and gift packaging.
See this workshop →Before you book
Check what each costs once the upgrades are added in Asakusa knife workshop prices, and read bringing a Japanese knife home before you fly: the knife has to go in checked luggage.

Book the 40-Minute Knife Workshop
Traveling Tokyo's whetstone workshop in Asakusa: sharpen and refine a Japanese knife, pick a handle and take it home. Rated 4.9 from 419 reviews, from about $91 in October 2026; free cancellation up to 24 hours before.
Check Availability & Book